Troja Chateau is considered of the most important architectural works of the beginning of Late Baroque in Central Europe. In areas where vineyards were once located, Count Václav Vojtěch from Šternberk had the chateau built in 1678 to successfully obtain a title of nobility. The chateau's form resembles a type of an Italian suburban villa, it is therefore a summer residence rather than a chateau. The villa was also to serve as a residence and resting place of the emperor and his retinue while hunting in Stromovka, the nearby game enclosure. Outstanding European artists were invited to the construction and decoration of the chateau. The project was designed by Jean Baptist Mathey, an Italian architect, who changed the original concept to regular disposition with grand hall in the center.
Giovanni Domenico Orsi de Orsini, renowned Prague architect, started the construction and his disciple Slivestro Carloni lead it for a few initial years. Despite his extensive experience the architect Mathey was not allowed to lead the construction himself, for he had not been trained in the mason's guild, which was against the then valid regulations.
The chateau's decorations are devoted to the celebration of the imperial line, to which the chateau was to be "dedicated". The view of the ruler's seat, The Prague Castle, is directly in the main axis of the chateau.
If you enter the chateau's premises via its original ceremonial entrance, the southern gate by the Vltava river, you may sense the original atmosphere. Following the axis of the garden, guests may reach the very apex of the chateau's composition - the monumental two-arm grand sairway, which leads directly to the grand hall.
The stairway is decorated with dramatic scenes from the Gigantomachy, depicting the triumph of the Olympian gods over the Titans characters as it is portrayed in the ancient Greek Iliad. It is very likely that this was also the inspiration for the name "Troja", which then spread out to the whole locality. The sculptures are works of the sculptors Paul and George Heermann who were invited from Dresden to decorate the stairway in 1685 and around 1705 they were joined by Jan Brokof.
The Grand "Emperor's" Hall is the dominant and central feature of the chateau, from which corridors with door enfilade of adjacent lounges lead down both sides. Both corridors are connected by two opposite spiral stairways in tower-like two-storey belvederes. These belvederes give the construction a unique character and at the same time they represent an obvious "signature" of the work of the architect Jean Baptiste Mathey.
The premises of the ground floor served as a background for the servants and in the basement there was a spacious wine cellar. A single-wing stables and a coach house with two-storied pavilions had been built by the wall in the northern courtyard of the complex.
The construction was completed in 1689 and the villa was honored by the Emperor's visit when in 1702 Count Šternberk received the Emperor Leopold I.